Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Big Mamas Rib Shack

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.2
458 reviews
|Soul Food|Pasadena, CA 91104

1453 N Lake Ave, Pasadena, CA 91104

(626) 797-1792

http://www.bigmamaspasadena.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.6
(66) · Soul Food

24416 Muirlands Blvd

(949) 328-9720

3 people are looking at this business

4.4
(2905) · Soul Food

At Los

(562) 437-8355

1 person is looking at this business

4.3
(471) · Restaurants

751 Indian Hill Blvd

(909) 865-6700

2 people are looking at this business

4.3
(396) · Soul Food

440 S Anaheim Blvd #209A

(714) 906-1900

4 people are looking at this business

4.2
(294) · Restaurants

3527 Main St

(951) 782-8219
4.2
(10) · Bakeries

7717 S Western Ave

(323) 759-2020
About

Big Mama's is a family owned & operated restaurant in Pasadena, CA. We serve the finest barbecue and southern eating this side of the Mississippi. Because of our unique cuisine and southern hospitality, we attract diners of all walks of life. It is true "down home" Southern food, crafted with careful attention to the tradition & love handed down from Big Mama's original personal recipes. Big Mama's Rib Shack specializes in home made Southern Creole & BBQ cuisine. Come get your creole fix with entrees such as Jambalaya, Gumbo or Srimp and Chicken Creole or Smothered Pork Chops. Need some BBQ? Our sauce is boss and it graces our Babyback & Pork Spare Ribs, BBQ Chicken or Hot Links entrees! In

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.2
458 reviews
5244
  
490
  
343
  
214
  
128
  
39 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
pgrey on Citysearch

15 years ago

11/24/2006, 00:39 AM
Big Mama should get a kiss! – Big Mama's Rib Shack serves up some pretty good BBQ. I tried a pretty much a little bit of everything off of the menu. The fried chicken is great. The chicken is moist and the skin is crisp and flavorful. You can taste the spices they use. My favorite is the BBQ stuff. We got the BBQ combination and it was yummy! Ribs, chicken, and the sausage tasted nicely cooked and the BBQ sauce was delicious. Not too sweet with a little spicy kick. I also tried the gumbo and jambalaya which was OK. Not something I would order again though. The sides that come with the dinners are really good too. I recommend trying the fried okra. Make sure you come ready to eat well, because Big Mama feeds you well. There is a lot of food and you go home stuffed. Despite what other reviewers said, I thought the service was very cordial. We went when it wasn't busy at all so maybe that is why they were able to have the time to be a bit warmer to us. Go try it out!
Howdythere on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/25/2006, 00:45 AM
Great fried chicken & corn bread! – Don't even get me started on Big Mama's. Just thinking about it makes me want to have their candied yams, fried chicken, and corn bread. The service is mixed and the ambience is okay. I would recommend it!
poppis on Citysearch

16 years ago

05/18/2005, 01:47 AM
yummy bbq!! – this place has the yummiest bbq pork ribs i've had in a long time the meat is cooked just right and the sauce is a little spicy, which is nice, other places that we've been to their sauces are more sweet, this sauce is good their bbq chicken was pretty good but not the best i've had, their links are also okay but i've also had better, try their cajun fries they are really yummy and a bit spicy, their cajun battered slices of potatoe wedges fried , really good. my husband has had their smothered pork chops and regular fried pork chops, the catfish and oyster sandwhiches, all of it very tasty according to him. we usually order take out and the service has always been friendly and attentive, we'll defenitly keep coming here for some very tasty, spicy, and smokey bbq ribs.
Featured content
Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers

Top 5 Doctor Review Sites for Healthcare Providers
How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation

How to respond to bad reviews and repair your online reputation
doughboy1234 on Citysearch

17 years ago

11/28/2004, 00:33 AM
NOT FOR BBQ – This place has some pretty good soul food. The greens are fresh, the fried chicken & fish is good. The BBQ is not very good. Nothing exciting & rather disappointing. Ribs & hot links were weak, the sauce was like it was out of a jar. Will go for the soul food, not the ribs. Should change the name to Big Mamas Soul Food Shack.
intlfoods on Citysearch

17 years ago

09/29/2004, 01:13 AM
C'mon! – Food was ordered and picked up, it tasted alright, nothing special. My Jambalaya was just a palm full in size (such a turn off). I didn't like the small portions. Not worthy of "Word of mouth" to friends.
skip31 on Citysearch

17 years ago

09/22/2004, 01:25 AM
Don't think I'd go back – I went to Big Mama's recently, and I was disappointed! When the waitress sat us down, she told us that the kitchen was going to close in a little bit, so we had to order soon. What the heck? I've never been told that, no matter how late I went to a resaurant. We didn't even get there late, we got there 1 1/2 hours before closing time, and people were still coming in 1/2 hour before closing. Anyway, I ordered the fried chicken. When I got it, it was undercooked. I it with a fork, and blood squirted out! I had lost my appetite by now, but I told the waitress about it, and she took it back for another order. I was already frustrated with the rushed behavior of the waitress. She didn't even offer anything for the inconvenience.
wallstla on Citysearch

17 years ago

02/11/2004, 00:13 AM
Can't Get Enough – Recently, my wife and I had dinner at Big Mama's. The atmosphere is warm and inviting- the decor and wait staff are top notch. The food was excellent, I had the BBQ Combo and my wife had the fried chicken (YUMMY) We have been their every weekend since. The BBQ sauce has a very unique taste. They should bottle it and sell it over the counter. We are hooked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
vincent on Citysearch

18 years ago

10/16/2003, 01:10 AM
Too Good – Been to quite a few rib joints and these ribs are really good. Not only are the ribs good, but the sides (I had the yams and greens) are really good also....Not everyone knows how to cook yams....Will definitely be going back and will also be using their catering services.....
mmontgomery on Citysearch

18 years ago

07/06/2003, 01:04 AM
Yummy!!! – The BBQ chicken sauce was delicious and the meat simply fell off the bone. My husband like his ribs. There are many sides to choose from as well. I can't wait to try their gumbo and catfish. We had sweet potato pie for dessert and it was good.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.