Logo White
Watch Demo

Big Mamas Rib Shack

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.2
453 reviews
|Soul Food|Pasadena, CA 91104

1453 N Lake Ave, Pasadena, CA 91104

(626) 797-1792

http://www.bigmamaspasadena.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.6
(66) · Soul Food

24416 Muirlands Blvd

(949) 328-9720
4.4
(381) · Restaurants

751 Indian Hill Blvd

(909) 865-6700

1 person is looking at this business

4.4
(2752) · Soul Food
4.3
(387) · Soul Food

440 S Anaheim Blvd #209A

(714) 906-1900

1 person is looking at this business

4.3
(2451) · Soul Food

830 N Lake Ave

(626) 791-4890
4.2
(10) · Bakeries

7717 S Western Ave

(323) 759-2020
About

Big Mama's is a family owned & operated restaurant in Pasadena, CA. We serve the finest barbecue and southern eating this side of the Mississippi. Because of our unique cuisine and southern hospitality, we attract diners of all walks of life. It is true "down home" Southern food, crafted with careful attention to the tradition & love handed down from Big Mama's original personal recipes. Big Mama's Rib Shack specializes in home made Southern Creole & BBQ cuisine. Come get your creole fix with entrees such as Jambalaya, Gumbo or Srimp and Chicken Creole or Smothered Pork Chops. Need some BBQ? Our sauce is boss and it graces our Babyback & Pork Spare Ribs, BBQ Chicken or Hot Links entrees! In

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 60,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.2
453 reviews
5240
  
490
  
343
  
214
  
127
  
39 reviews have no rating
  • 236 Reviews4.1Google
  • 185 Reviews4.4Facebook
  • Show All
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Linda O. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

01/15/2008, 00:06 AM
Good Food!! Big Mama give you a good portion of food. You should be well satisfied with the portions. The food is tasty, t he price was reasonable, but the customer service was fair. A good place to take your family.
Mar Yvette on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/27/2007, 01:00 AM
This Pasadena "shack" is where folks go for Southern fare in a cool, contemporary setting. – In Short Named after a real person, Big Mama's originally opened in Las Vegas before planting more roots in Pasadena in 2002. Since then, this family-run location--decked out in cherry wood chairs, white linen tablecloths and splashes of red, purple and yellow on the walls--has been serving folks a bevy of Southern dishes like spicy jambalaya, fried catfish, chicken and shrimp creole, candied yams and barbecue ribs.
J.M. A. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

09/13/2007, 02:03 AM
A piece of home, on a plate Real Southern food is pretty rare around here, and I (Georgia) was pleasantly surprised. The food here is very authentic. This is a mixed blessing, because in addition to the soulful taste, the portions are big (I had the fried catfish, which was good, but I don't need 4 or 5 of them!) and taste is heavy. My friend had a Cajun something and gave it thumbs-up. Unfortunately, the place was nearly empty, and the only people working were Latinos, which was strange in a "family-owned and operated" "down home" restaurant. Anyway, it's good for anyone who needs a fix of real Southern food!
Featured content
Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews
Increase online presence with free Scan-Your-Business tool

Increase online presence with free Scan-Your-Business tool

Increase online presence with free Scan-Your-Business tool
cyn30az on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/16/2007, 01:29 AM
GOOD SOUL FOOD – THIS PLACE IS SIMPLY THE BEST .. NOTHING ELSE SAID .. PRICES , FOOD , PARKING , RESPECT, LOVE IT ... I TRAVEL INTO TOWN BORN AND RAISED IN AZUSA BUT FOR THE LAST THREE YRS IN LAKE HAVASU, AZ.. AND LORD KNOW I CANT FIND ANYTHING LIKE THAT IN HAVASU .. JUST TRY IT U WONT BE MAD
anekab on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/27/2007, 01:10 AM
Great place to get our soul food fix. – Although we've lived in the Pasadena area for years, we only recently found Big Mama's. In the last week, we've been there twice. I'm not a big BBQ fan...so the appeal of this restaurant for me is based on the classic southern/soul food options...items like oxtail, fried okra, red beans & rice (all of which were right on and definitely satisfied the need for southern food). Last night I tried the fried snapper and it was in a crisp cornmeal batter (like my now favorite fried okra) with a hint of peppery spice. My husband has tried the smothered pork chops and the smothered chicken...both of which he enjoyed...although prefers the pork chops. The waitstaff has been extremely friendly and accommodating. The location is easy to find and in the evenings there is lots of parking available even if the parking lot is full. The best thing about this restaurant is that the prices are reasonable. Dining out in LA these days can be prohibitive sometimes. But you can easily get away with having a filling dinner for under $12 (less that what I sometimes pay for lunch in West Hollywood). I definitely recommend Big Mama's if you're in the Pasadena area and are hankerin' for a touch of the South.
Erron Silverstein (closed) on YellowBot

13 years ago

04/22/2007, 01:06 AM
Awesome Ribs & Sides The ribs here are fantastic! Big Mama's has a large selection of Southern food, especially salads and sides, to go along with your ribs. It's great for kids and parties. Save room for dessert, too.
mvmontgomery on YellowBot

13 years ago

04/21/2007, 01:07 AM
Great soul food and barbecue Amazing food. The barbecue is moist and succulent. The desserts are great. Good service.
phgarey on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/08/2007, 00:47 AM
It's about the cobbler! – Like the previous review - the BBQ was OK. Nothing wrong with it whatsoever. It was OK. The catfish was better than ok - ditto the sausage. With that said, the cobbler was a show-stopper! The best I've ever eaten, period. (If it helps, I'm well over 50 and have eaten a lot of cobbler over the years!) I also liked the friendly, informal but attentive service. Lastly, you can't beat the price.
pgrey on Citysearch

14 years ago

11/24/2006, 00:39 AM
Big Mama should get a kiss! – Big Mama's Rib Shack serves up some pretty good BBQ. I tried a pretty much a little bit of everything off of the menu. The fried chicken is great. The chicken is moist and the skin is crisp and flavorful. You can taste the spices they use. My favorite is the BBQ stuff. We got the BBQ combination and it was yummy! Ribs, chicken, and the sausage tasted nicely cooked and the BBQ sauce was delicious. Not too sweet with a little spicy kick. I also tried the gumbo and jambalaya which was OK. Not something I would order again though. The sides that come with the dinners are really good too. I recommend trying the fried okra. Make sure you come ready to eat well, because Big Mama feeds you well. There is a lot of food and you go home stuffed. Despite what other reviewers said, I thought the service was very cordial. We went when it wasn't busy at all so maybe that is why they were able to have the time to be a bit warmer to us. Go try it out!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.