Logo White
Watch Demo

Big Mamas Rib Shack

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.2
453 reviews
|Soul Food|Pasadena, CA 91104

1453 N Lake Ave, Pasadena, CA 91104

(626) 797-1792

http://www.bigmamaspasadena.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.6
(66) · Soul Food

24416 Muirlands Blvd

(949) 328-9720
4.4
(381) · Restaurants

751 Indian Hill Blvd

(909) 865-6700

1 person is looking at this business

4.4
(2774) · Soul Food
4.3
(387) · Soul Food

440 S Anaheim Blvd #209A

(714) 906-1900

1 person is looking at this business

4.3
(2456) · Soul Food

830 N Lake Ave

(626) 791-4890
4.2
(288) · Restaurants

3527 Main St

(951) 782-8219

1 person is looking at this business

About

Big Mama's is a family owned & operated restaurant in Pasadena, CA. We serve the finest barbecue and southern eating this side of the Mississippi. Because of our unique cuisine and southern hospitality, we attract diners of all walks of life. It is true "down home" Southern food, crafted with careful attention to the tradition & love handed down from Big Mama's original personal recipes. Big Mama's Rib Shack specializes in home made Southern Creole & BBQ cuisine. Come get your creole fix with entrees such as Jambalaya, Gumbo or Srimp and Chicken Creole or Smothered Pork Chops. Need some BBQ? Our sauce is boss and it graces our Babyback & Pork Spare Ribs, BBQ Chicken or Hot Links entrees! In

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 60,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.2
453 reviews
5240
  
490
  
343
  
214
  
127
  
39 reviews have no rating
  • 236 Reviews4.1Google
  • 185 Reviews4.4Facebook
  • Show All
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Victor H. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

07/24/2009, 02:06 AM
Ribs were fantastic Would recommend this place to anyone who likes ribs. Very nice place where service is quick. Price was responable and worth every bit. Would highly recommend them.
M. F. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

07/24/2009, 01:50 AM
Most Wonderful BBQ Place in Pasadena You have to drive a bit up north to find this place, but the food is heavenly. Be prepared for huge portions (the plates are oval just to fit everything). I recommend getting the BBQ Combo Plate -- it's more than enough to feed 2 normal-appetite people. When I went, my leftovers lasted me for 2 more meals!
Al M. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

07/24/2009, 01:46 AM
One of the Best in Pasadena......Thats not saying much. Big Mama's is very good and like the other reviewer said, they give free corn bread!!! The barbecue is good and their sides are also very good.Better to hit up Mama's and avoid Barn Burner on Fair Oaks. After all is said and done, try to get down to south L.A. for some real barbecue or maybe someone on Lincoln Ave. in Pasadena is cookin'
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response
Donna C. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

07/24/2009, 01:43 AM
Love this food! My husband and I went to the bridge party in Pasadena over the summer and this rib shack was cooking food for the party. It was out of site! It's GREAT for all the BBQ meets and other things. It's east to park and the service is really nice too! Please try, you won't be disapointed.
sewo1015 on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/26/2009, 01:47 AM
Example: great place for good bread – Big Mama's rib shack...I must say...going into this, the name had me SOLD! visions of cornbread, fried okra, greens and slow cooked pork clouded my mind on the drive into Pasadena. The location is unassuming from the outside and, quite surprisingly, adorned in a modern color palate complete with sharp furniture, dark woods and crisp lines. It looked much more like a Pasadena lounge than a Southern rib joint inside...Not bad at all, just unexpected. We were with a large party, so I had the fortune of trying a little of this and a little of that...My plate was blessed with everything from jambalaya to catfish and cornbread to ox tails. I opted for the pork ribs with fried okra and red beans and rice. I finished that with a fried chicken thigh...Big Mama is quoted saying "baby, if the colonel made fried chicken like me, he'd a been a general" Cute. But not sure that was on the spot...Coulda been closer to "Honey, had the Colonel made fried chicken like me, he'd a been medically dishcharged for his blood-pressure" SALT CITY! The ribs were succulent...meaty, moist and falling off the bone. The sauce was a little sweet for my liking...but definitely did the job. The fried okra receives a passing grade...had I closed my eyes and been served it, I may have mistaken it for Carl's Jr's fried zucchini...Not a big winner, much like the chicken dinner. The red beans and rice were nice! Smoky and rich with just the right amount of chili powder and paprika to spice up the night. The service was moderate at best...I would have imagined the waitress would have paid more attention to the biggest table in her room...Finally, Big Mama was OUT OF DESSERT when dinner was over. Dessert was gone? wow. Interesting. So I had a bite of everything and can rate on a 1-5, 5 being best 5-sorry Big Mama...hey the Coronas were COLD! 4-red beans and rice, cajun fries 3-ribs, fried catfish, fried chicken, bbq chicken 2-fried okra, blackened catfish, jambalaya, gumbo 1-mac n cheese, greens ENJOY!
wam08 on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/02/2008, 01:34 AM
Fantastic Soul Food! – mmmmm great soul food!!! I got the cajun combo which came with TONS of food!!! Although I don't think they are as known for cajun it was still pretty good, great hush puppies and fried ocra. Although I think next time I will come for some BBQ or Fried chicken, yum! Good service, selection and reasonable prices.
Shonda F. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

05/16/2008, 01:40 AM
Riblets Almost as good as Corky's but not quite. The ribs are very tasty and will definitely make you like your fingers. The coleslaw is excellent. I recommend this rib joint. Plus it's in Pasadena and there are lots of things to see.
Donna G. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

05/02/2008, 01:57 AM
blackeyed peas yum...Greens...Ribs..these place will make you cry. So good and friendly atmosphere. Peach cobbler is the best. you will love just about everything on this menu
doduong on Yellow Pages

13 years ago

01/22/2008, 00:53 AM
FRIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIED CHICKEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! With a name like Big Mama, you know fried chicken was invented here! Forget Roscoes, KFC, Popeyes, and Churches Chicken. For soul food, this is the right place (North Pasadena), in the right time (hungry time), with the right rhyme (soul baby). Though it is a "rib shack", the fried chicken is what first comes to mind. Order a plate of the wings and thighs and you'll never have juicier, crunchier, or tastier fried chicken in your life. FOOD: Some notable dishes are the pork chop with gravy, pork ribs, beef ribs, mac and cheese, and hush puppies. Don't get the seafood here, it's not all that. SERVICE: Because it's a soulfood restaurant, and I like to take my time nibbling all the meat off the chicken and ribs, I don't consider the service SLOW. But don't expect the waiter to be at your beck and call, he's probably busy helping big mama bread up the new batch in the back!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.