Logo White
Watch Demo
3.6
182 reviews
|Restaurants|San Francisco, CA 94109

1245 Van Ness Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109

(415) 440-4321

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits

Top Restaurants in your area

Yeganeh Bakery & Kafe Unik
4.5
(687) · Restaurants

3275 Stevens Creek Blvd

(408) 666-1229
Shalizaar Restaurant
4.3
(536) · Restaurants

300 El Camino Real

(650) 596-9000

2 people are looking at this business

Chelokababi Restaurant
4.3
(890) · Restaurants

1236 S Wolfe Rd

(408) 737-1222
Yas Restaurant
4.2
(331) · Restaurants

1138 Saratoga Ave

(408) 241-5115

3 people are looking at this business

Paradise Kabab House
4.2
(23) · Restaurants

2653 Broadway

(650) 773-7370
House of Kabobs
4.2
(282) · Restaurants

161 S Sunnyvale Ave

(408) 735-8199

About

History Established in 1990. We started from east bay fremont city, and after that we opened the send location in San fransisco. Then, the thrirt location in Berkely, and the fourth location in Morencounty. and the last one, a great resturant in walnut city.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
3.6
182 reviews
566
  
445
  
320
  
28
  
131
  
12 reviews have no rating
  • 170 Reviews3.6Google
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Bronwyn H. on Citysearch

8 years ago

02/11/2012, 01:43 AM
Take your money somewhere else... – I booked this place for my brother's birthday for 20 people. Even though I called three weeks before and booked the private dining room, they double-booked it, and we were moved to the general dining area.
In our initial conversations, they gave me a per person price over the phone ($38), took a $500 deposit and no further pricing/invoice was sent, so I communicated that price to my family coming to dinner. But when the bill came, it was almost $50 per person. It left me and my family unprepared, which is not how we wanted to end an evening, especially an evening that costs $1,000 for 20 people. I had to ask people for more money at the end of dinner, whic
...  more>>
Tiffany Maleshefski on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/08/2010, 03:59 AM
Citysearch Editorial Review – Since it first opened in 2001, Alborz, one of the only Persian restaurants in San Francisco, still struggles to get to the attention it deserves. Not only do some fantastic regional dishes remain undiscovered, but there's also never been enough overflow to push people into the kooky, homey lounge adjacent to the restaurant's teeny bar. The menu here is lengthy, but it's the kebabs that steal the show: An impressive variety are served, most being the familiar chunks of tenderly skewered meats, but the Joojeh with bone features a whole Cornish hen, marinated with olive oil and saffron. Another perk, especially for people working in near proximity, is that it offer...  more>>
DebbiP on Citysearch

10 years ago

01/18/2010, 04:35 AM
Horrible Customer Service – SLEAZY!! We purchased a gift certificate for them through Restaurant(dot)com - but they refused to honor claiming that they "didn't have a contract with them anymore and didn't have to honor it." The restaurant was almost completely empty and we were there for the first time - but they didn't care if we left... so we walked out. Contacting Restaurant(dot)com revealed that they have never cancelled their gift certificates with them, so they apparently are just using those gift certificates to get people in the door. Didn't work with us. We will never go back again!
NOTE: Only gave them 1 star because we couldn't give them zero.
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
Contributor on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/10/2008, 04:02 AM
Editorial Review – This authentic Persian restaurant near Pacific Heights serves up koobideh, kebabs and some of the city's best baklava.
trekers on Citysearch

11 years ago

08/08/2008, 03:26 AM
Baklava to DIE for! – Great place for dinner before running across & down Van Ness to see a movie! The standard fare with some twists to please. The kabobs were artfully done to perfection; seasoned & tender as could be. The pomegranate chicken offering was delightful even tho the chicken was abit overcooked this time around, next it could be perfect. The basmati is so very good & "nutty". No matter what a visit to this establishment is desired for the unbelievable baklava; no words can describe this taste sensation, this is truly the crowning glory for this kitchen.
steveng82 on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/12/2007, 01:53 AM
Excellent Persian Food! – I've been to Alborz 3 or 4 times and the service has been excellent. While the prices can be a little steep when you add in all the extras (two people can easily be 40-50 dollars), its an overall excellent restaurant. The Koobideh is excellent, they don't hold back on the sapphron, and if you speak Farsi, the waiter/waitress often can converse with you. I had a dinner party of 14 there and was very pleased with the level of service.
mburnstein on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/02/2006, 02:43 AM
Very Good Neighborhood Restaurant – I'm a little surprised by the other reviews I see for the restaurant. This is a very solid neighborhood restaurant. If you rate it as a destination restaurant, it will fall short. It's best to think of it as a great place to get a reasonably priced meal before or after a movie. The food is consistent. I agree with some that some of the dishes feature dry meat. I always get the ground beef or shrimp skewers. Those are consistently good. I would not travel clear across the city to eat here, but it's a great choice in the neighborhood if you are already nearby.
sangeld on Citysearch

15 years ago

05/10/2004, 02:04 AM
moist meat & unique flavors – Try the Alborz platter for two to try 2 of each skewer along w/two plates of the best rice anywhere. The saffron and sumac seasoning is so unique. The service is serious and professional. Some may be confused by the raw onion served as a compliementary appetizer along w/feta, herbs and pita - but please know this is a Persian tradition as a start. And, it goes great with a glass of red wine. Just put a sliver of white onion on the pita and roll it up w/feta and a large portion of herbs. So yummy.
mmcarter on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/19/2004, 05:55 AM
Food Dry – I went to Alborz recently and found the food very dry, overpriced for the amount you received and the service was poor. Don't waste your money.
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.