Logo White
Watch Demo
4.5
188 reviews
|Restaurants|Los Angeles, CA 90029

4356 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90029

(323) 665-6810

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits

Top Restaurants in your area

The Duke Lounge
4.8
(50) · Restaurants

902 N Dixie Hwy

(561) 318-7359
Hidden Door
4.7
(62) · Restaurants

802 S Staples St

(361) 882-5002

2 people are looking at this business

Flixx
4.6
(49) · Restaurants

1019 S 10th St

(402) 408-1020
Bad Lands El Paso
4.6
(21) · Restaurants

701 E Paisano Dr

(915) 533-9000

1 person is looking at this business

Southbend Tavern
4.6
(76) · Restaurants

126 E Moler St

(614) 444-3386
Club Diversity
4.6
(426) · Restaurants

863 S High St

(614) 224-4050

3 people are looking at this business

About

This somewhat elegant gay haunt on the corner of Sunset and Fountain Avenues is a great place for a drink any day of the week. The ambience is upbeat, with sounds from the jukebox constantly raising the energy level of the place. The crowd gets busy after 10p or during events, but plenty of seats are usually still to be had all night long. Best of all, the help remains attitude-free. Although primarily a gay bar, all are welcomed here with equal enthusiasm. Don’t forget to check out the gorgeous mirrored bar.

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.5
188 reviews
5106
  
443
  
316
  
20
  
14
  
19 reviews have no rating
  • 164 Reviews4.5Google
  • 3 Reviews4.7Insider Pages
  • 2 Reviews4.5Yellow Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
T A. on Yellow Pages

4 years ago

09/18/2015, 16:08 PM
Great neighborhood bar. Friendly crowd but always packed. Also great location if you are hungry afterwards.
William H. on Yellow Pages

5 years ago

10/27/2014, 08:33 AM
love this place; i can get my freek on and bloow everyone and swallow
tonyt818 on Citysearch

11 years ago

03/06/2009, 14:47 PM
NOT TO BE TRUSTED WITH CREDIT CARD!!!!!! DONT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD!!!!! – I gave them my credit card and opened up a tab and the bar. At the end my bill was $26. I had the cash so I ended up paying and tipping them in cash. Two days later I see a charge on my credit card for $50 dollars. DO NOT TRUST THESE GUYS WITH YOUR CREDIT CARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
Amy F. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

12/07/2008, 04:09 AM
Drunk on Stage
This high end dive is great any day of the week. However my preference is Tuesday night comedy starting around 8pm. The five dollar cover is nothing considering the caliber of comics that grace the stage. You will definately laugh, spit your drink out, or shart. Bruce Daniels has been putting together a great line up for years.
Ruth g. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

11/28/2008, 00:05 AM
Parking at Akbar
Since the only con seems to be parking, I just thought I'd clue some of you in on something that has been well-known to Akbar regulars for YEARS...the flower shop on the NE corner of Fountain and Sunset has a parking lot that, after dark, belongs to Akbar. If you can't find parking in the lot behind the bar (which is shared by The Kitchen), try the flower shop. DO NOT PARK AT MacDONALD's, you will be towed.
jesloz11 on Citysearch

12 years ago

05/08/2008, 01:15 AM
good place for a drink... – Been to Akbar a few times. Great place to relax and unwind. If you are looking for the pretentious weho scene, this is not the place to go. Very low key, lots of locals, and down to earth people. Met my partner at Akbar so I cant complain!!! Only inconvenience is the 20 tab on credit cards. Other than that not a bad place to go to.
Shawn I. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

03/21/2008, 06:19 AM
Silverlake Gay Hotspot
Akbar is a fun experience for the LGBT crowd and their friends. Half of this earthy club is a bar and lounge, the other half a bar and dance floor. Both are small, dark and cramped which only adds to the charm. The bar welcomes all ages but skews slightly younger with a diverse mix of emo, edgy, crunchy and trendy. It's a low attitude place with HOT music and cheap drinks. Music is a highlight here. Akbar plays a wide range of really danceable stuff - ABBA to AC/DC, and the floor is packed. Thursday and Saturday are the best dance nights...the former has a very East Coast/NYC feel while Saturday is a wild mash up. You never know what to expect a good time. No cover onl
...  more>>
manwest on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/01/2008, 16:15 PM
Cool place despite bartenders attitudes... – While it IS agreed here that the bartenders can be rude and curt and very easily agitated, the place is quite fun. A very diverse crowd as opposed to a few years ago and more space than before. With a little less "I'm Silverlake-cool so everyone annoys me" attitude, it could be the best place ever.
jeffreynow on Citysearch

12 years ago

12/13/2007, 12:20 PM
in response to UNSCRUPULAS BUSINESS ACT – Jeffrey Wylie here, manager of AKBAR. Regarding the previous posting by "foodielover1": even after 11 years here at AKBAR (and 27 years total in the bar business), I am still amazed at how drunk people THINK they remember events correctly, and how they refuse to take responsibility for their actions. The bartender in question wrote in the bar journal book about this guy the night he came in, and how agro he became after getting drunk (even before he cashed out), and even said they guy might call to complain. He didn't, and he also never disputed his credit card charge. Maybe after his hangover cleared up he realized how rude and obnoxious he behaved ...  more>>
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.