Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Aburiya Kinnosuke

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
422 reviews
|Izakaya|New York, NY 10017

213 E 45th St, Ste 1, New York, NY 10017

(212) 867-5454

https://www.facebook.com/aburiya.kinnosuke/?utm_term=gbl

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.5
(157) · Restaurants

49 Clinton St

(212) 777-7069

1 person is looking at this business

4.4
(610) · Restaurants

141 E 45th St

(212) 986-1109

1 person is looking at this business

4.3
(382) · Restaurants

46 W 22nd St

(212) 989-7889
About

Aburiya Kinnosuke doesn't generate hype because it isn't embellished as nouvelle fusion cuisine. You'll find many items on the menu never seen in other Japanese restaurants. The restaurant serves house-made tofu, sashimi, rice, noodles and plenty of seafood, all with tastes and textures unlike the cliches you're used to. They have grills where diners can cook their meat as they please and their sake and shochu collection is modest. The true test of its authenticity, however, is its patrons; their tables are heaped with food and they leave with broad smiles. Aburiya Kinnosuke must be doing something right.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

Birdeye Score

The Birdeye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the Birdeye Score® is calculated
4.3
422 reviews
5237
  
4121
  
329
  
214
  
114
  
7 reviews have no rating
  • 415 Reviews4.3Google
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
gkao007 on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/14/2007, 01:06 AM
Solid, like it's other 2 restaurants – I thought I was in Japan. Everything they served was authentic to taste. No wonder all my Japanese friends and peers all rave about this place. Binchotan charcoal in full effect. You gotta love that. Real Japanese Charcoal burning at 1800 degrees F.
mr_meursault on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/03/2007, 04:18 AM
Very enjoyable – This is a wonderful little place. It is not exactly authentic, but somehow it does make you feel like you have been transported to Japan for the evening. The plates are small and the food is very tasty. The prices are reasonable, so long as you don't expect to leave stuffed. Try the grilled items. I don't think I had anything there I didn't like. The food isn't so great that I would recommend coming here again and again, but try it once.
qtgurljny on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/20/2007, 04:07 AM
Authentic Japanese Gem – This restaurant has truly great food and is frequent by tons of Japanese people, a sure sign that this place must be authentic. The dishes are portioned and priced much like tapas so one dish just won't cut it. I would probably order 2-3 dishes per person given your appetite. I had really great handmade tofu here, great ramen noodles, and tons of other dishes I can't remember now. They barely squeezed us in on a Tuesday night without reservations. So, I would recommend making some or calling the restaurant if you're traveling to get there.
Featured content
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
Why is Birdeye the Best Website Chat in the Industry?

Why is Birdeye the Best Website Chat in the Industry?

Why is Birdeye the Best Website Chat in the Industry?
justaddwater on Citysearch

14 years ago

04/24/2007, 09:15 AM
A real Japanese izakaya in NY – Aburiya is basically just a high end izakaya. It's owned by a company that run 6 other successful upscale restaurants in Japan. The food is both good and authentic. For those of you that may not know, sake is no longer the drink of choice in Japan. Shochu is. Aburiya has a good assortment of imported premium Shochu.
cleois300 on Citysearch

14 years ago

04/24/2007, 07:04 AM
Nobu prices for mediocre food. – Dined here on Friday night with six other friends. Quickly spent about $650 (they add 20% gratuity with 6 or more). I will never come here again. It is too expensive and the menu was filled with bland tasting items (I know that Japanese food is bland but if I'm shelling out $90/person, the food should at least be somewhat tasty)!!! It took about over an hour for all of our orders to come out. I guess the food comes out piece by piece while we starve. Here are some ridiculous items on the menu (prices are estimated). Grilled cherry tomatoes ($8): 5 grilled cherry tomatoes on a wooden skewer (that's it!) Grilled mushrooms ($9): two medium grilled mushroom caps, sliced (that's it!) Sirloin steak ($40): 6-8 oz steak, sliced (that's it!) Homemade tofu ($10): 1 cup of tofu; tasted like plain flan without sugar. I was complaining to my friend, who suggested we come here (he also said that this place was inexpensive), that I come to a restaurant to be able to chew food for at least 5 seconds and not go hungry waiting for the next dish. All of us were literally starving because these portions were so tiny and they only came out every 10 minutes. Having one piece of sushi, one cherry tomato, one small piece of a mushroom cap, and a strip of steak (not strip steak) in 45 minutes is not acceptable. Thank goodness I ordered some noodles ($12). They really hhit the spot since it was 45 minutes into dinner and I only had about 3 ounces of food. (It was already 10pm) My knowledge of Japanese cuisine is above the average Japanese restaurant patron, not including native Japanese people. If you want good Japanese at a reasonable price, stick with any place in the Village.
Kathleen Squires on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/01/2007, 04:12 AM
Japanese grill spot lets diners choose between semiprivate seclusion or hospitable counter dining. – In Short Mahogany, bamboo and green-tea tones edge the sleek space. Diners sit at private nooks with personal barbecues or at the more convivial counter around the robata (charcoal grill). In addition to handmade tofu, the main draws are chicken wings, eel and duck. Fish fans can opt for sashimi courses or rice casseroles flavored with cod, sardines or salmon. Black sesame pudding and green-tea tiramisu extend the Eastern flavors to the dessert menu.
ckooij on Citysearch

14 years ago

01/20/2007, 04:06 AM
A little piece of Tokyo hidden in New York City – Having been raised in Japan, I can honestly say that this restaurant offers wonderful and authentic Japanese food. From the moment you walk in, you feel as though you've been transported to a small Izakaya in Tokyo. The specials are great as are the items on the regular menu The atmosphere is homey, pleasant, and not too loud. The interior is simple with nice wooden panels and private booths, regular tables and counter seating are available. From families to business men to younger clients, the restaurant attracts quite a range of individuals. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a truly authentic Japanese meal. They also have a great grapefruit chu-hai (grapefruit juice and shochu) made with a fresh half-grapefruit which is brought to your table and squeezed freshly for you!!!! Yum!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.