Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

10 Degrees South

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
299 reviews
|South African|Atlanta, GA 30342

4183 Roswell Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30342

(404) 705-8870

https://10degreessouth.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
About

If you've never had an opportunity to try South African cuisine, you're in for a savory taste treat. The flavors mingle the influences of Indian, Middle Eastern and English cooking to arrive at luscious grilled meats, calamari, braised rump steak and other regional specialties. Considered by patrons to be one of Atlanta's best kept secrets, the owners and staff make you feel like an old friend. Newcomers should try the bobotie, a unique sweet beef and curry dish, and sample the excellent wines, such as Spice Route, of some of South Africa's most noted vineyards. Occasional live entertainment spices up the atmosphere in the safari-themed dining room and bar. See website for full menu and exci

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
299 reviews
5185
  
438
  
323
  
212
  
114
  
27 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
LBC6 on Citysearch

10 years ago

08/29/2011, 10:42 AM
Found metal in entree – The food was different and very tasty. Unfortunately, I found metal pieces in my entree. I thought at first it was a bone (no big deal), but was shocked when I pulled a sharp, metal piece out of my mouth. I informed the waiter. I received an apology and that was it. I was expecting a more formal apology from a manager but received nothing. Because of this experience alone, I will not return.
shu1212 on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/23/2010, 18:07 PM
10 Degrees South – The food n this restaurant was awefully made and presented!! I asked to have food brought to me that contained no garlic and it was loaded with it with spices and poorly incorporated food and rediculous side dishes! Also poor quality food for the price! the waiter lacked knowledge of what was in each item on the menu. I specifically said no garlic....I ended up sick that night...had to take medication and lost my sleep!
HunterPearson on Citysearch

11 years ago

04/26/2010, 13:43 PM
Fancy South-African food in a big, airy space in Buckhead. – This place is good... but outstanding? I'm not sure. It's a big and beautiful space, and the presentation and service is elegant. And perhaps it's because I haven't truly been introduced to the cuisine, but I just don't get it. And I especially don't get it when apps are $10 and entrees are $20+. That makes for an expensive learning curve. Everything we had was pretty solid, but nothing really stood out. Well, there was one thing. The chicken spring rolls tasted like something that came from my freezer... but whatever the red sauce that came with it was, was AWESOME. It was zesty, and slightly spicy and looked like Zaxby's sauce. But tasted WAY better. I ended up dunking basically everything on our table in there. Again, perhaps I just don't know the cuisine... but I really don't see much of a reason to go back, unless I'm in the area.
Featured content
Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?

Do Online Reviews Matter?
How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)
2worldtravelers on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/16/2009, 16:30 PM
First visit Last visit – My husband and I lived in South Africa for two years. We were excited when we read about 10 Degrees South restaurant. We decided to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary there. My husband ordered the Kingklip and loved it--just like when he ordered it in South Africa. I ordered the prawns and was very disappointed. The service was terrible and the restaurant was not even busy. Our waitress would disappear for long periods of time. One waiter did not seem to have anything to do but wander around the restaurant. We had planned to take our children, their spouses, and grandchildren to the restaurant because they had visited us in South Africa. We are not going to waste our money or time to go back.
Susan L. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

05/01/2009, 17:59 PM
great food, unique experience If you are looking for a unique dining experience, check out 10 Degrees South. The food is quite tasty and the service is generally really good. For a truly authentic South African meal, try the Peri-Peri Chicken or Cape Kingklip.
bobpepalis on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/13/2009, 19:47 PM
RUN AWAY – Run in the opposite direction as fast as you possibly can. Do not even pull into the parking lot. Please promise yourself you won't even look at this restaraunt twice once you realize where it is. If I could give less than 1 star for this I would. First, the lady who seated us in the place had both her eyebrows covered with pieces of paper so that was insanely weird. Second, they only seat you in one section of the place and leave the lights off in all the other sections. There is literally one row of lights on in this huge empty room. Thirdly, the food was awful in every sense of the word. We were only there about 10 minutes, had half of one plate of this mess they called food, then paid them to leave.
businesstime on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/04/2009, 07:29 AM
Excellent Food, Drinks, Music and Staff – I recently went to Ten Degrees South for dinner and was pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the staff - very hospitable- and the food was delicious. I ordered some appetizers at the bar while waiting for our table and was more than pleased with the martinis and recommendations made by the bartender, Rebecca. We ordered Bobotie, Lamb Chops and the Prawns for dinner and loved them all! The music coming from the lounge/bar area was fantastic and we had such a wonderful evening! Thank you Ten Degrees for getting it right!
SydneyKayAtl on Citysearch

13 years ago

12/17/2008, 19:01 PM
Fun Bar Scene – This is one of my favorite places in the city to grab a dinner at the bar or have a sit down meal with friends. Bar staff is very attentive and always welcoming. Plus, they have really great live acoustic music on the weekends and weekdays. Definitely try the Boervors (sp?!) sandwich from the appetizer menu.
TruAtlNative on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/22/2008, 05:02 AM
Good Food, Bad Customer Service – Visited 10 Degrees South with 4 friends for the 4th time. A group of about 12 loud, obnoxious people were seated next to us, who felt it necessary to yell at each other the entire meal. Needless to say our meal was ruined as we could not even hear our own conversations. When we complained we were told they were sorry, but it was a busy night and there was nothing they could do. When I asked to speak to the manager before leaving, he came to the table and spoke to someone else in our party, and left before I had a chance to speak to him. He promised us a free round of drinks at Jack and Diane's (one of his other establishments). He met us there, and was rude telling my friend that if I had a problem I should have said something. He apparently didn't care that we spent over $300 at his restaurant, and was in no mood to soothe my nerves. Needless to say, thanks to his lack of concern, I will not be back to either of his restaurants.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.